MUSICA NON GRATA - Music by Terezín Composers

The State Opera
Musica non grata

Dear spectators,

The National Theatre operates at full capacity and all purchased tickets remain valid. However, it is obligatory to wear a face mask or other similar protection of the nose and mouth inside the theatre.

Spectators entrance, stay in the theatre and the subsequent exit is organized by the theatre staff in a special mode so that the visitors of the individual sectors are separated from each other and do not have to meet even in the areas of refreshments, restrooms or cloak rooms.

Thank you for respecting the government regulations and we look forward to seeing you.

Choose date

    October 2020

    Wednesday 14. 10.

    Tickets available

    Basic information


    The State Opera

    Approximate running time

    1 hour 40 minutes, 1 intermission 15 minutes

    Opening concert of the Everlasting Hope music festival in cooperation with Musica non grata.


    • 2020-2021


    The first concert within the Musica non grata project will present the Study for string orchestra, an impassioned statement Pavel Haas composed during his incarceration in the Theresienstadt camp-ghetto, a year before his death. Amidst the uncertainty as to what the future would bring, he wrote a piece comparable with the greatest 20th-century works of music. The concert at the State Opera will also feature Haas’s Suite transcribed for oboe and strings by Ondřej Kyas.

    The Suite from Hans Krása’s Brundibár will precede its complete staged performance within the Musica non grata festival.
    Unlike this children’s opera, Viktor Ullman’s Der Kaiser von Atlantis (The Emperor of Atlantis), an evident parable about a mad dictator conceived in Theresienstadt, was never performed in the concentration camp. Both the composer and the librettist, Petr Kien, were murdered in Auschwitz.

    The concert will symbolically conclude with the Partita for string orchestra, the last completed piece of Gideon Klein, yet another extraordinary talent who fell victim to the Nazi “Final Solution”.

    Pavel Haas: Study for string orchestra 
    Pavel Haas: Suite for oboe and string orchestra (Suite for oboe and piano, Op. 17, orchestrated by Ondřej Kyas) 
    Viktor Ullman: Der Kaiser von Atlantis (The Emperor of Atlantis) 
    - (Des Kaisers Abschied – Finale)

    - intermission -

    Gideon Klein: Partita for string orchestra (Trio for violin, viola and cello, arranged for string orchestra by Vojtěch Saudek
    Hans Krása: Brundibár, suite 


    Practical information

    Where to buy tickets

    When purchasing online, we will send you an E-ticket by e-mail. You can pick up printed tickets in person at any of our box offices.

    What to wear?

    By their appearance, attire and behaviour, the audience is obliged to adhere to the accustomed practice expected from them when attending a theatre performance.

    Buffets at the State Opera

    No waiting. For your benefit, please pre-order your food and beverages at the bar to minimize waiting in the queue!


    Parking at the State opera

    While visiting the State Opera, you can take the slip road on Wilsonova street from the left lane close to the State Opera building to the Parking Centrum above-ground garage. The parking fee is 40 CZK/h.