Dear customer, we are sorry but your browser doesn't support all necessary features for good site view. Please switch to one of the modern browsers (Chrome, Safari, Firefox).

Jean-Christophe Maillot

Choreography and stage direction


During the 1992 –1993 season, Jean-Christophe Maillot became Artistic Adviser to Les Ballets de Monte-Carlo and in September 1993 H.R.H. the Princess of Hanover appointed him Director-Choreographer. During his tenure as Artistic Director, he has transformed the company of fifty dancers, rapidly developing Les Ballets de Monte-Carlo’s maturity and excellence. His personal inner quest has resulted in the origination of a new language that enables him to handle the great classics as well as to make his mark in the world of abstraction – an artistic approach that has been lauded throughout the international press. His fervent passion is the development of his company and its ability to open to other creators.
Thus, Jean-Christophe Maillot enriches the company’s repertoáre by annually inviting renowned choreographers to Monaco and, at the same time, offering young choreographers the opportunity to work with Les Ballets de Monte-Carlo.
Owing to the many tours of Les Ballets de Monte-Carlo, to which he attaches great importance, and performances worldwide (London, Paris, New York, Madrid, Lisbon, Seoul, Hong Kong, Cairo, Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Brussels, Tokyo, Mexico, Beijing, Shanghai, etc.), Jean-Christophe Maillot is recognised abroad as one of the most distinguished French choreographers.
Jean-Christophe Maillot’s La Belle received the Nijinsky Award for best choreographic production of 2001 at the 2002 Monaco Dance Forum and the Italian critics awarded him the Danza & Danza Prize for the best show of 2002. Jean-Christophe Maillot was vřed “Choreographer of the Year 2007” at the Benois de la Danse ceremony on 6 May 2008 at the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow for his production Faust, premiered in 2007 in Monaco. In 2010, in Moscow, he received the Prix Benois de la Danse for the Best Choreographer along with the "Premio Dansa Valencia 2010".

Photo: de Saito