Natascha Petrinsky

Guest of the Opera

Natascha Petrinsky was born in Vienna. After her graduation as a lawyer, she studied singing at the University of Tel-Aviv with Tamar Rachum and began her international career at the New Israeli Opera Tel-Aviv. She has performed the roles of Medea (Giasone, Cavalli) at the Spoleto Festival USA, the Verdi roles of Amneris (Aida) at the Oper Leipzig, Azucena (Il Trovatore) and Maddalena (Rigoletto) at the Ravinia Festival Chicago, the Wagner roles of Kundry (Parsifal), Venus (Tannhäuser) at the Teatro dell’Opera di Roma, Brangäne (Tristan) with Opéra National de Bordeaux, Wellgunde at the Bayreuther Festspiele and De Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam and Waltraute (Götterdämmerung) at La Fenice Venice. She also sang the title role of Phaedra (Henze) at the German State Opera Berlin, Maggio Musicale Florence and La Monnaie Brussels, where she as well performed Hannah (La Lumière Antigone, Bartholomée), Klytämnestra (Elektra), the title role in Penthesilea or Lucy Barker (Sweeney Todd). She sang the title role of Carmen in Helsinki, Bilbao and Caracas (G. Dudamel), Varvara (Kátja Kabanová) at the Flanders Opera, Teatro Real Madrid and De Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam. There she was also heard as the Vixen (The Cunning Little Vixen) and Judith (Bluebeard’s Castle), which she sang additionally in Nancy and Dublin. Further important roles include Jocaste (OEdipus Rex, Stravinsky) at Opera North and Edinburgh International Festival, Miranda in “The Tempest” (T. Ades) in Strasbourg and Mère Marie in “Les Dialogues des Carmélites” (Opera Bilbao). At La Scala di Milano she sang Klementia (Sancta Susanna, Hindemith), Gräfin Geschwitz (Lulu) under D. Gatti, Sonyetka (Lady Macbeth of Mzensk, Shostakovitch) and Baba the Turk (The Rake’s Progress). The artist has worked with Maestri such as Giuseppe Sinopoli, Riccardo Muti, Jeffrey Tate, Michael Boder, Ingo Metzmacher, Andrew Davies, Roberto Abbado, Riccardo Chailly, James Conlon, Pinchas Steinberg, Gustavo Dudamel, Christoph Eschenbach, Hans Graf, Hartmut Haenchen, Kazushi Ono, Lothar Koenigs, Marko Letonja and Donald Runnicles.