Dear customer, we are sorry but your browser doesn't support all necessary features for good site view. Please switch to one of the modern browsers (Chrome, Safari, Firefox).

Musica non grata: Zemlinsky-Schönberg

Festival Zemlinsky150

Národní muzeum - České muzeum hudby
Musica non grata
Festival Zemlinsky150

The National Theatre sells tickets for full capacity of its venues, for all auditorium seats, with the exception of the first row.
According to the government's decision, visitors must meet these conditions.
Tickets can be purchased on the website of the National Theatre and at the box offices of the National Theatre.

Choose date

    October 2021

    Saturday 9. 10.

    Tickets available

    Musica non grata
    Festival Zemlinsky150

    Basic information


    Národní muzeum - České muzeum hudby

    Approximate running time

    1 hour 6 minutes, no intermission

    The concert is part of the Zemlinsky 150 festival

    When you buy two or more tickets for concerts and / or other events within the festival, you will receive a 20% discount.

    On the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the birth of Alexander Zemlinsky , a composer, conductor and pedagogue, a music festival will be held on October 8-10, 2021 in his honor. Four chamber concerts will take place as part of the festival, featuring compositions by Zemlinsky and his contemporaries and composers who were personally close to him. The festival will finish with a concert at the State Opera on October 10, where a fragment from the opera Malva, which was orchestrated by musicologist Antony Beaumont, will be presented in its world premiere. The Zemlinsky Quartet, the Choir and Orchestra of the State Opera, opera soloists and foreign guests Johanni van Oostrum, Michael Nagy and cellist Claudio Bohorquez will perform.


    • 2021-2022


    For a long time the String quartet was regarded as the royal class of composing. Anyone who considered himself as a real composer wrote quartets. So did Zemlinsky. His String quartet No. 2 was composed during his Prague period and is modern as well as sophisticated in it‘s tonal language. It will be presented in direct confrontation with famous other works of the genre. Zemlinsky's String Quartet No. 2 is heard alongside the second String quartet by Arnold Schoenberg, to whom Zemlinsky dedicated his piece. In opposite to Zemlinsky Schoenberg, quite uncharacteristically, integrates a soprano on two wonderful texts by Stefan George.

    Alexander Zemlinsky: String quartet No. 2, op. 15
    Arnold Schönberg: String quartet No. 2, op. 10