Dear customer, we are sorry but your browser doesn't support all necessary features for good site view. Please switch to one of the modern browsers (Chrome, Safari, Firefox).

Musica non grata: Zemlinsky-Brahms-Berg

Festival Zemlinsky150

Národní muzeum - České muzeum hudby
Musica non grata
Festival Zemlinsky150

The National Theatre sells tickets for full capacity of its venues, for all auditorium seats, with the exception of the first row.
According to the government's decision, visitors must meet these conditions.
Tickets can be purchased on the website of the National Theatre and at the box offices of the National Theatre.

Choose date

    October 2021

    Friday 8. 10.

    Tickets available

    Musica non grata
    Festival Zemlinsky150

    Basic information


    Národní muzeum - České muzeum hudby

    Approximate running time

    1 hour, no intermission

    Zemlinsky150 – festival

    About concert

    Zemlinsky’s Clarinet Trio, probably his most popular chamber music work, meets its counterpart: the one of Johannes Brahms. Zemlinsky wrote his Trio for clarinet, piano and violoncello in the late 1890s for a competition of Wiener Tonkünstler-Verein (The Vienna Tonkünstler-Verein), the music of Brahms certainly in his mind: “I remember how it was also considered particularly praiseworthy among my colleagues to compose as ‘Brahmsian’ as possible”, Zemlinsky later looks back on this time. “We were also soon notorious in Vienna as dangerous ‘Brahmines’”. – In the concert Zemlinsky’s Trio can be heard alongside the Brahmsian work. The program is supplemented by four small miniatures for clarinet and piano by Alban Berg, for whom Zemlinsky campaigned in his years in Prague.

    Perform: Karl-Heinz Steffens and Friends


    Johannes Brahms:
    Trio for piano, clarinet and violoncello in A minor, op. 114

    Alban Berg: Four Pieces for clarinet and piano, op. 5

    Alexander Zemlinsky: Trio for piano, clarinet and violoncello in D minor, op. 3