Dear customer, we are sorry but your browser doesn't support all necessary features for good site view. Please switch to one of the modern browsers (Chrome, Safari, Firefox).

Musica non grata: Zemlinsky-Brahms-Berg

Festival Zemlinsky150

Národní muzeum - České muzeum hudby
Musica non grata
Festival Zemlinsky150

The National Theatre sells tickets for full capacity of its venues, for all auditorium seats, with the exception of the first row.
According to the government's decision, visitors must meet these conditions.
Tickets can be purchased on the website of the National Theatre and at the box offices of the National Theatre.

Choose date

    October 2021

    Friday 8. 10.

    Tickets available

    Musica non grata
    Festival Zemlinsky150

    Basic information


    Národní muzeum - České muzeum hudby

    Approximate running time

    1 hour, no intermission

    The concert is part of the Zemlinsky 150 festival

    When you buy two or more tickets for concerts and/or other events within the festival, you will receive a 20% discount.

    On the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the birth of Alexander Zemlinsky , a composer, conductor and pedagogue, a music festival will be held on October 8-10, 2021 in his honor. Four chamber concerts will take place as part of the festival, featuring compositions by Zemlinsky and his contemporaries and composers who were personally close to him. The festival will finish with a concert at the State Opera on October 10, where a fragment from the opera Malva, which was orchestrated by musicologist Antony Beaumont, will be presented in its world premiere. The Zemlinsky Quartet, the Choir and Orchestra of the State Opera, opera soloists and foreign guests Johanni van Oostrum, Michael Nagy and cellist Claudio Bohorquez will perform.

    About concert

    Zemlinsky’s Clarinet Trio, probably his most popular chamber music work, meets its counterpart: the one of Johannes Brahms. Zemlinsky wrote his Trio for clarinet, piano and violoncello in the late 1890s for a competition of Wiener Tonkünstler-Verein (The Vienna Tonkünstler-Verein), the music of Brahms certainly in his mind: “I remember how it was also considered particularly praiseworthy among my colleagues to compose as ‘Brahmsian’ as possible”, Zemlinsky later looks back on this time. “We were also soon notorious in Vienna as dangerous ‘Brahmines’”. – In the concert Zemlinsky’s Trio can be heard alongside the Brahmsian work. The program is supplemented by four small miniatures for clarinet and piano by Alban Berg, for whom Zemlinsky campaigned in his years in Prague.

    Perform: Karl-Heinz Steffens and Friends

    Johannes Brahms:
    Trio for piano, clarinet and violoncello in A minor, op. 114
    Alban Berg: Four Pieces for clarinet and piano, op. 5
    Alexander Zemlinsky: Trio for piano, clarinet and violoncello in D minor, op. 3