The National Theatre Opera

RepertoireProgramme and tickets
  • Opera The Estates Theatre

    W. A. Mozart: Don Giovanni

    14-25 August

    More information

1. 8. 2019

New Opera Management

Today, the Norwegian manager Per Boye Hansen will officially assume the post of Artistic Director of the National Theatre Opera and State Opera.

In August, Karl-Heinz Steffens, the former Music Director of the Norwegian National Opera, will take up the post of Music Director of the State Opera. Conductor Jaroslav Kyzlink continues as Music Director of the National Theatre Opera. Mrs. Bohdana Malik took the post of Administrative Director of Opera in June. We are looking forward to the cooperation and wishing the new Opera management good luck!

28. 7. 2019


For the very first time in history, Operalia, the international Opera competition founded by Plácido Domingo, has been presented in the Czech Republic.

The 27th edition of the internationally renowned competition has been hosted by the National Theatre and the Domingo-Mozart-Prague organization and took place at the historical building of the National Theatre in Prague which is one of the symbols of the country’s national identity and counts more than 130 years of independent artistic performances. The Final Concert featured 12 of the most promising voices in the opera world today, with singers from Argentina, Canada, Guatemala, Italy, Germany, South Korea, Sweden, South Africa and the United States. Their performances were accompanied by the National Theatre orchestra conducted by Plácido Domingo. The Final’s concert was followed by an award ceremony, where Plácido Domingo presented prizes in 7 categories: 

First Prize
Adriana Gonzalez, soprano, Guatemala
Xabier Anduaga, tenor, Spain 


Second Prize
Maria Kataeva, mezzo-soprano, Russia
Gihoon Kim, baritone, South Korea


Third Prize
Christina Nilsson, soprano, Sweden
Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen, countertenor, USA/Germany


Birgit Nilsson Prize
Felicia Moore, soprano, USA
Christina Nilsson, soprano, Sweden 


The Pepita Embil Prize of Zarzuela
Adriana Gonzalez, soprano, Guatemala


The Don Plácido Domingo Ferrer Prize of Zarzuela
Xabier Anduaga, tenor, Spain 


Rolex Prize of the Audience
Maria Kataeva, mezzo-soprano, Russia
Gihoon Kim, baritone, South Korea


CulturArte Prize
Anna Shapovalova, soprano, Russia


26. 7. 2019

Winners of Operalia 2019

Adriana Gonzalez and Xabier Anduaga are the First Prize Winners of Operalia’s 27th edition. Congratulations!!! We will be back soon with more information.

3. 7. 2019

Operalia 2019

The 2019 edition of Placido Domingo's Operalia, The World Opera Competition, will take place at the National Theatre in Prague, from Sunday July 21st through Friday July 26th.
Tickets here:

24. 6. 2019

The Intermezzo pop-up exhibition

The Intermezzo pop-up exhibition displays works by Kintera, Pěchouček and other contemporary visual artists, and their connection with the world of opera.

Over four days, the Intermezzo pop-up exhibition will show works by Kryštof Kintera, Michal Pěchouček and other contemporary visual artists in a non-traditional relation with the world of opera. It is be open from 24 to 27 June in the former restaurant next to the New Stage on Václav Havel Square in Prague. The exhibition displays 47 paintings, sculptures and objects by Jan Kaláb, Jiří David, Michal Cimala, Markéta Hlinovská and other distinguished Czech artists. Intermezzo has been organised by Galerie Pictura as part of this year’s Opera Nova festival, which was launched by a joint performance of the acclaimed Czech opera singer Vanda Šípová and the celebrated diva Soňa Červená. The exhibition is open to the public free of charge every day from 10am to 7pm.


This website uses cookies. Click here for more information.