Robert Kružík

Robert Kružík belongs to the youngest generation of Czech conductors. Born in Brno, he started as a cellist and later graduated from Brno Conservatory where besides playing cello he engaged in conducting. He pursued his studies at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague, where he was taught conducting by L. Svárovský, C. Olivieri-Munroe and L. Mátl as well as the subject of cello by Miroslav Petráš. In the academic year 2012/2013 he obtained a study-related placement in Zürcher Hochschule der Künste in Switzerland where he focused on both subjects. He performed, with success, at several cello competitions, among others the Prague Spring, the Bohuslav Martinů Foundation Interpretation Competition, Leoš Janáček International Competition. Since 2016, he has been a permanent conductor of the Janáček Opera in Brno as well as of Moravian-Silesian Theatre in Ostrava. He is a permanent guest conductor of Brno Philharmonic starting the season 2018/2019. Since 2014, he has been working for the Janáček Opera as an assistant conductor. He conducted his interpretation of Le comte Ory, The Queen of Spades and Libuše to the 100th anniversary of foundation of the Czechoslovakia. In the Ostrava Opera he conducted operas Three Wishes or Inconstancy of the Life, The Secret, The Bartered Bride, La clemenza di Tito, Otello, La traviata and Prokofiev's ballet Cinderella. Robert Kružík works with Czech orchestras such as Brno Philharmonic, PKF - Prague Philharmonia, Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava, Prague Chamber Orchestra, Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra Olomouc, South Bohemian Chamber Philharmonic, Czech Virtuosi and Ensemble Opera Diversa and Bohuslav Martinů Philharmonic Orchestra Zlín. He has worked with leading soloists such as violinists E. Yoo, V. Hudeček, cellists T. Jamník, R. Wallfisch, singers R. Janál, J. Sulženko and S. Červená. As a conductor he made his appearance at Young Prague Festival, St. Venceslas Music Festival in Ostrava.

More information

Robert Kružík appears in productions

SEASON 2019/2020


This website uses cookies. Click here for more information.