Ballet The National Theatre

The Nutcracker – A Christmas Carol

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Let us dance the Christmas magic for you…



Choreography: Youri Vàmos
Staged by: Joyce Cuoco, Youri Vàmos, Alexey Afanasiev
Conductor: Sergej Poluektov, Václav Zahradník
Sets and Costumes: Michael Scott
Ballet master: Alexey Afanasiev, Michaela Černá, Jiří Kodym
Chorus master of the Kühn's Children's Choir: Jiří Chvála
Lights: Klaus Garditz

Tchaikovsky’s ballet The Nutcracker is one of the fixed stars of the classical repertoire of ballet ensembles. Since its premiere in 1892 it has undergone many changes in both the dramaturgical and choreographic conception, yet its popularity among children and adults alike has been constantly growing. The Hungarian choreographer and former Artistic Director of Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf, Youri Vàmos, was inspired by Charles Dickens’s fairy tale and introduced a new staging version of this ballet. The story takes place in 19th-century London and tells of the magic of Christmas in transforming human character. We firmly believe that this performance will further enrich the festive Christmas atmosphere and will be a beautiful present not only for our youngest audience members.

Orchestra of the National Theatre.
Co-operation with Kühn's Children's Choir

Approximate running time, including intermission:
2 hours, one 20-minute intermission

Photo: Roman Sejkot, Diana Zehetner. Martin Divíšek



Bob Cratchit / Devil

Mrs Cratchit / Christmas Fairy

Clara Cratchit / Clara in dream

Policeman Bobbie / Nutcracker

Complete Cast



Chinese woman



Oriental dance

Waltz – solo


In our e-shop

The Nutcracker – A Christmas Carol Programme

A booklet for the production of The Nutcracker – A Christmas Carol

60 CZK

The Nutcracker – A Christmas Carol Programme (for children)

An illustrated booklet for the production of The Nutcracker – A…

40 CZK

Poster The Nutcracker – A Christmas Carol

A poster for the production of The Nutcracker – A Christmas Carol

99 CZK

This website uses cookies. Click here for more information.